Your Councillors

The 84 County Councillors were elected following the County Council Elections on Thursday 4 May 2017. As no one party won overall control, the current administration is ran by a Labour and Liberal Democrat alliance. The councillors represent public interest as well as individuals living within the division in which he or she has been elected to serve a term of office.

They have regular contact with the general public through council meetings, telephone calls or surgeries. Surgeries provide an opportunity for any ward resident to go and talk their councillor face to face and these take place on a regular basis.

Councillors are not paid a salary for their work, but they do receive allowances. By law, all members of the Council are required to complete a declaration of interest form, the details of which are published annually.

To find your councillor please use the below links:

Councillor
Photograph Councillor Political party Division
photo of James Airey

James Airey

Leader of the Conservative Group

5 Reeds Gardens, Little Urswick, Ulverston, Cumbria, LA12 0US

Home: 01229 868088

Home mobile: 07881920810

Work: James.Airey@cumbria.gov.uk

Conservative Ulverston West
photo of Trevor Allison

Trevor Allison

17 Gilbert Road, Cummersdale, Carlisle, Cumbria, CA2 6BJ

Home: 01228 523923

Work: Trevor.Allison@cumbria.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Dalston and Burgh
photo of Martin Steven Barbour

Martin Steven Barbour

Park View, Low Moresby, Whitehaven, Cumbria, CA28 6RS

Home: 07795 207894

Work: martin.barbour@cumbria.gov.uk

Conservative Howgate
photo of Alan Lawrence Barry

Alan Lawrence Barry

49 South William Street, Workington, Cumbria, CA14 2EE

Home: 01900 604289

Home mobile: 07786 666211

Work: Alan.Barry@cumbria.gov.uk

Labour St Michael's
photo of John Bell

John Bell

50 Castlerigg Drive, Carlisle, Cumbria, CA2 6PF

Home: 01228 530388

Work: John.Bell@cumbria.gov.uk

Labour Morton
photo of Patricia Anne Bell

Patricia Anne Bell

Tor Croft, Penrith, Cumbria, CA11 7UL

Home: 01768 867826

Work: Patricia.Bell@cumbria.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Penrith East
photo of Ben Berry

Ben Berry

c/o Low Wood Bay, Ambleside Road, Windermere, Cumbria, LA23 1LP

Home: 0788 1388042

Work: ben.berry@cumbria.gov.uk

Conservative Windermere
photo of Robert William Betton

Robert William Betton

10 Holywell Crescent, Carlisle, Cumbria, CA1 2TD

Home: 01228 530747

Home mobile: 07827 234381

Work: Robert.Betton@cumbria.gov.uk

Independent Councillors (Non Aligned) Botcherby
photo of Roger Kenneth Bingham

Roger Kenneth Bingham

The Smithy, Milnthorpe, Cumbria, LA7 7DH

Home: 015395 63694

Home mobile: 07917 648005

Work: Roger.Bingham@cumbria.gov.uk

Conservative Lower Kentdale
photo of James (Jim) Bland

James (Jim) Bland

Oakridge, Underbarrow, Nr Kendal, Cumbria, LA8 8BL

Home: 015395 68576

Home mobile: 07720 740922

Work: James.Bland@cumbria.gov.uk

Conservative Lyth Valley
photo of Christine Bowditch

Christine Bowditch

Vice Chair of the Council

4 St George's Crescent, Carlisle, Cumbria, CA3 9NL

Home: 01228 530159

Work: Christine.Bowditch@cumbria.gov.uk

Labour Belle Vue
photo of Joseph (Alan) Bowness

Joseph (Alan) Bowness

High Waverbridge House, Wigton, Cumbria, CA7 8PN

Home: 016973 71322

Work: Alan.Bowness@cumbria.gov.uk

Conservative Bothel and Wharrels
photo of Matt Brereton

Matt Brereton

Inglewood House, Foxfield, Broughton-in-Furness, Cumbria, LA20 6BX

Home: 07795 426437

Work: matt.brereton@cumbria.gov.uk

Conservative High Furness
photo of Anne Burns

Anne Burns

Cabinet Member for Children's Services/Deputy Leader of the Labour Group

10 Gilpin Walk, Barrow-in-Furness, Cumbria, LA14 3UP

Home: 01229 471824

Home mobile: 07966 641382

Work: Anne.Burns@cumbria.gov.uk

Labour Hindpool
photo of Hilary Carrick

Hilary Carrick

Deputy Leader of the Conservative Group

Hilltop, Penrith, Cumbria, CA11 9NA

Home: 01768 898147

Home mobile: 07767 440696

Work: Hilary.Carrick@cumbria.gov.uk

Conservative Penrith North
photo of Frank Cassidy

Frank Cassidy

9 Gladstone Terrace, Hawcoat Lane, Barrow-in-Furness, Cumbria, LA14 4HR

Home: 01229 837510

Home mobile: 07974078814

Labour Walney South
photo of Will Clark

Will Clark

7 Broadgate Orchard, Ambleside, Cumbria, LA22 9RY

Home: 07919 298671

Work: will.clark@cumbria.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Lakes
photo of Stanley Bernard (Stan) Collins

Stanley Bernard (Stan) Collins

8 Gowan Close, Staveley, Kendal, Cumbria, LA8 9NW

Home: 01539 821086

Work: Stan.Collins@cumbria.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Upper Kent
photo of Andy Connell

Andy Connell

11 Mill Hill, Appleby-in-Westmorland, Cumbria, CA16 6UR

Home: 07795 224544

Work: andy.connell@cumbria.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Appleby
photo of Geoffrey David (Geoff) Cook

Geoffrey David (Geoff) Cook

32 Kirkbie Green, Kendal, Cumbria, LA9 7AJ

Home: 01539 740133

Home mobile: 07875 662124

Work: Geoffrey.Cook@cumbria.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Kendal Highgate
photo of Nicholas Charles (Nick) Cotton

Nicholas Charles (Nick) Cotton

Sarum House, Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria, LA6 2HL

Home: 015242 71477

Work: Nicholas.Cotton@cumbria.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Sedbergh and Kirkby Lonsdale
photo of Phil Dew

Phil Dew

Westoe, Rowgate, Kirkby Stephen, Cumbria, CA17 4SR

Home: 017683 72898

Home mobile: 07768 817670

Work: phil.dew@cumbria.gov.uk

Conservative Kirkby Stephen
photo of Claire Driver

Claire Driver

Cross House, Alston, Cumbria, CA9 3HS

Home: 07795 221853

Work: claire.driver@cumbria.gov.uk

Labour Alston and East Fellside
photo of Deborah Anne Earl

Deborah Anne Earl

Cabinet Member for Public Health and Community Services

6 Hallaway, Carlisle, Cumbria, CA3 9RG

Home mobile: 07738 248247

Work: Deborah.Earl@cumbria.gov.uk

Labour Harraby South
photo of Gareth Michael Ellis

Gareth Michael Ellis

3 Etterby Scaur, Carlisle, Cumbria, CA3 9NX

Home: 07984441329

Work: gareth.ellis@cumbria.gov.uk

Conservative Belah
photo of Des English

Des English

18 Kestrel Drive, Dalton-in-Furness, Cumbria, LA15 8QA

Home: 07795 159989

Work: des.english@cumbria.gov.uk

Conservative Dalton South
photo of Shirley Evans

Shirley Evans

Wainwright House, Fowl Ing Lane, Kendal, Cumbria, LA9 6PH

Home: 01539 737068

Work: Shirley.Evans@cumbria.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Kendal Nether
photo of Duncan Stewart Fairbairn

Duncan Stewart Fairbairn

Thornby Moor House, Wigton, Cumbria, CA7 0JZ

Work: 07825 420665

Home: 016973 43160

Home mobile: 07825 420665

Work: Duncan.Fairbairn@cumbria.gov.uk

Conservative Thursby
photo of Helen Jane Fearon

Helen Jane Fearon

59 Wordsworth Street, Penrith, Cumbria, CA11 7QY

Home: 07825 203248

Work: Helen.Fearon@cumbria.gov.uk

Conservative Penrith West
photo of Lawrence Neil Fisher

Lawrence Neil Fisher

26 Hanson Place, Warwick Square, Carlisle, Cumbria, CA1 1NG

Home: 01228 512550

Home mobile: 07710 717772

Work: Lawrence.Fisher@cumbria.gov.uk

Conservative Brampton
photo of Derek Gawne

Derek Gawne

24 Newport Street, Barrow-in-Furness, Cumbria, LA14 5DE

Home: 07795 159996

Work: derek.gawne@cumbria.gov.uk

Conservative Roosecote
photo of Hugo George Greenbank Graham

Hugo George Greenbank Graham

2 Home Farm Close, Dearham, Cumbria, CA15 7JB

Home: 07795 159837

Home mobile: 07795 159837

Work: hugo.graham@cumbria.gov.uk

Conservative Dearham and Broughton
photo of William James (Bill) Graham

William James (Bill) Graham

16 Cairn Crescent, Corby Hill, Carlisle, Cumbria, CA4 8QH

Home: 01228 561513

Work: William.Graham@cumbria.gov.uk

Independent Councillors (Non Aligned) Corby and Hayton
photo of Brenda Gray

Brenda Gray

Rose Cottage, Milnthorpe, Cumbria, LA7 7ND

Home: 015395 61135

Home mobile: 07770 664379

Work: Brenda.Gray@cumbria.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Kendal South
photo of Kevin Robert Hamilton

Kevin Robert Hamilton

8 Marsden Street, Barrow-in-Furness, Cumbria, LA14 2AY

Home mobile: 07543 790997

Work: Kevin.Hamilton@cumbria.gov.uk

Labour Risedale
photo of Rebecca Charlotte Hanson

Rebecca Charlotte Hanson

12 Kirkgate, Cockermouth, Cumbria, CA13 9PJ

Home: 07795 159637

Work: rebecca.hanson@cumbria.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Cockermouth North
photo of Stephen  Haraldsen

Stephen Haraldsen

1 Clifton Terrace, High Street, Wigton, Cumbria, CA7 9PT

Home: 07795 169508

Work: stephen.haraldsen@cumbria.gov.uk

Conservative Yewdale
photo of Michael (Mike) Hawkins

Michael (Mike) Hawkins

60 Rutland Avenue, Homewood, Whitehaven, Cumbria, CA28 8LG

Home: 01946 65447

Home mobile: 07925 132549

Work: Mike.Hawkins@cumbria.gov.uk

Labour Mirehouse
photo of Keith Haigh Hitchen

Keith Haigh Hitchen

Over Irt, Holmrook, Cumbria, CA19 1UG

Home: 019467 24710

Home mobile: 07825 864039

Work: Keith.Hitchen@cumbria.gov.uk

Conservative Millom Without
photo of Chris Hogg

Chris Hogg

4 Valley Drive, Kendal, Cumbria, LA9 7AG

Home: 07795 426615

Work: chris.hogg@cumbria.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Kendal Castle
photo of Joseph Simon (Joe) Holliday

Joseph Simon (Joe) Holliday

Leader of the West Cumbria Independent Group

12 Northumberland Street, Workington, Cumbria, CA14 3HA

Home: 01900 66319

Home mobile: 07870 275974

Work: Joe.Holliday@cumbria.gov.uk

West Cumbria Independent Group St John's and Great Clifton
photo of Vacancy - Denton Holme

Vacancy - Denton Holme

  Denton Holme
photo of Neil Hughes

Neil Hughes

4 Croft End, Bampton, Penrith, Cumbria, CA10 2RS

Home: 01931 713401

Work: Neil.Hughes@cumbria.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Eden Lakes
photo of Alan Kennon

Alan Kennon

High Sand, Cockermouth, Cumbria, CA13 9NB

Home: 01900 826368

Home mobile: 07787 551073

Work: Alan.Kennon@cumbria.gov.uk

Conservative Cockermouth South
photo of Arthur William Creighton Lamb

Arthur William Creighton Lamb

Sunningdale, Distington, Cumbria, CA14 5XP

Home: 07795 169595

Work: arthur.lamb@cumbria.gov.uk

Conservative Cleator Moor East and Frizington
photo of Roger John Liddle

Roger John Liddle

Holme Cultram, Wigton, Cumbria, CA7 4SP

Home: 016973 61665

Work: Roger.Liddle@cumbria.gov.uk

Labour Wigton
photo of Jim Lister

Jim Lister

Moor Gill Farm, Wigton, Cumbria, CA7 2NG

Home: 016973 23253

Home mobile: 07717 540942

Work: Jim.Lister@cumbria.gov.uk

Conservative Aspatria
photo of Keith Anthony Little

Keith Anthony Little

Cabinet Member for Highways and Transport

24 St Helen's Avenue, Maryport, Cumbria, CA15 8RA

Home: 01900 812981

Home mobile: 07946 343010

Work: Keith.Little@cumbria.gov.uk

Labour Maryport South
photo of Tony Lywood

Tony Lywood

7 Penrith Road, Keswick, Cumbria, CA12 4HF

Home: 07798 925388

Work: tony.lywood@cumbria.gov.uk

Labour Keswick
photo of Elizabeth Mallinson

Elizabeth Mallinson

Chairman of the Council

2 Wordsworth Court, Carlisle, Cumbria, CA3 9DA

Home: 01228 533746

Home mobile: 07968 251367

Work: Elizabeth.Mallinson@cumbria.gov.uk

Conservative Stanwix Urban
photo of John Mallinson

John Mallinson

2 Wordsworth Court, Carlisle, Cumbria, CA3 9DA

Home: 01228 533746

Home mobile: 07968 251365

Work: John.Mallinson@cumbria.gov.uk

Conservative Houghton and Irthington
photo of Anthony James (Tony) Markley

Anthony James (Tony) Markley

Verona, Blitterlees, Silloth, Cumbria, CA7 4JJ

Work: 016973 31276

Home: 016973 31998

Home mobile: 07720 560596

Work: Anthony.Markley@cumbria.gov.uk

Conservative Solway Coast
photo of Nicholas Henry (Nick) Marriner

Nicholas Henry (Nick) Marriner

Warwick Hall, Warwick-on-Eden, Carlisle, Cumbria, CA4 8PG

Home: 01228 561546

Home mobile: 07768 991379

Work: Nicholas.Marriner@cumbria.gov.uk

Conservative Wetheral
photo of Carni McCarron-Holmes

Carni McCarron-Holmes

3 Criffel Avenue, Maryport, Cumbria, CA15 6JJ

Home: 01900 812834

Work: Carni.McCarron-Holmes@cumbria.gov.uk

Labour Maryport North
photo of William (Bill) McEwan

William (Bill) McEwan

16 Sowerby Avenue, Barrow-in-Furness, Cumbria, LA14 4DQ

Home: 01229 811421

Work: William.McEwan@cumbria.gov.uk

Labour Ormsgill
photo of Alan McGuckin

Alan McGuckin

St Ronans, Heads Nook, Brampton, Cumbria, CA8 9AE

Home: 01228 560441

Work: Alan.McGuckin@cumbria.gov.uk

Labour Castle
photo of Frank Irving Morgan

Frank Irving Morgan

9 Distington Park, Distington, Cumbria, CA14 5UN

Home: 01946 830759

Home mobile: 07717 541082

Work: Frank.Morgan@cumbria.gov.uk

Labour Cleator Moor West
photo of Marjorie Rae

Marjorie Rae

Deputy Leader of the West Cumbria Independent Group

3 Springfield Avenue, Workington, Cumbria, CA14 4LW

Home: 01946 831004

Home mobile: 07719 325644

Work: Marjorie.Rae@cumbria.gov.uk

West Cumbria Independent Group Harrington
photo of Graham Robert Phillip Melville Roberts

Graham Robert Phillip Melville Roberts

Cooden Beeches, 8 Aikbank Road, Whitehaven, Cumbria, CA28 6LL

Home: 07812 707271

Work: graham.roberts@cumbria.gov.uk

Conservative Bransty
photo of Sue Sanderson

Sue Sanderson

Cabinet Member for Schools and Learning

7 Water Close, Ulverston, Cumbria, LA12 8QZ

Home: 015395 31125

Home mobile: 07817952162

Work: CllrSue.Sanderson@cumbria.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Cartmel
photo of Ben Shirley

Ben Shirley

21 Duddon Road, Askam-in-Furness, Cumbria, LA16 7AJ

Home: 07951 150 537

Work: ben.shirley@cumbria.gov.uk

Conservative Dalton North
photo of David Edward Southward MBE

David Edward Southward MBE

Cabinet Member for Economic Development and Property

Craiova, Sellafield Road, Beckermet, Cumbria, CA21 2XN

Home: 01946 841476

Home mobile: 07917 535483

Work: David.Southward@cumbria.gov.uk

Labour Egremont
photo of Ian Stewart

Ian Stewart

Leader of the Liberal Democrat Group/Deputy Leader of the Council/Cabinet Member for Finance

10 Rose Hill Grove, Milnthorpe, Cumbria, LA7 7HR

Home: 015395 62391

Work: Ian.Stewart@cumbria.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Kent Estuary
photo of Stephen Stoddart

Stephen Stoddart

55A Udale Court, Workington, Cumbria, CA14 3SH

Home: 07795 159829

Work: stephen.stoddart@cumbria.gov.uk

Independent Councillors (Non Aligned) Moss Bay and Moorclose
photo of Val Tarbitt

Val Tarbitt

The Old Forge, 7 English Street, Longtown, Carlisle, CA6 5SE

Home: 01228 791483

Work: Val.Tarbitt@cumbria.gov.uk

Conservative Longtown
photo of Peter Thornton

Peter Thornton

Cabinet Member for Health and Care Services

Ubarrow Hall, Longsleddale, Kendal, Cumbria, LA8 9BB

Home: 01539 823640

Home mobile: 07970 891322

Work: Peter.Thornton@cumbria.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Kendal Strickland and Fell
photo of Celia Tibble

Celia Tibble

Cabinet Member for Environment

10 Greengate, Workington, Cumbria, CA14 1PH

Home: 01900 601302

Labour Seaton
photo of Paul Turner

Paul Turner

Dales End, Wellington, Gosforth, Seascale, CA20 1BH

Home: 07795 169637

Work: christopherpaul.turner@cumbria.gov.uk

Conservative Gosforth
photo of Tom Wentworth Waites

Tom Wentworth Waites

Luham Cottage, Penrith, CA11 8TA

Home: 01768 889010

Home mobile: 07825592661

Work: tom.wentworthwaites@cumbria.gov.uk

Conservative Greystoke and Hesket
photo of Helen Wall

Helen Wall

89 Roose Road, Barrow-in-Furness, Cumbria, LA13 9RJ

Home: 01229 829825

Home mobile: 07889 281276

Work: Helen.Wall@cumbria.gov.uk

Labour Old Barrow
photo of Reginald (Reg) Watson OBE

Reginald (Reg) Watson OBE

Ardyne Bank, Tarraby, Carlisle, Cumbria, CA3 0JS

Home: 01228 521676

Home mobile: 07931 536523

Work: Reg.Watson@cumbria.gov.uk

Labour Currock
photo of William John (Bill) Wearing

William John (Bill) Wearing

The Smithy, Windermere Road, Grange-over-Sands, Cumbria, LA11 6EG

Home: 01539 532482

Home mobile: 07745 094325

Work: Bill.Wearing@cumbria.gov.uk

Conservative Grange
photo of Cyril Frederick Weber

Cyril Frederick Weber

380 London Road, Carlisle, Cumbria, CA1 3ER

Home: 01228 539215

Work: Cyril.Weber@cumbria.gov.uk

Labour Harraby North
photo of David Whipp

David Whipp

3-5 Harker Yard, Penrith, Cumbria, CA11 7BL

Home: 07795 401739

Work: david.whipp@cumbria.gov.uk

Conservative Penrith Rural
photo of Chris Whiteside MBE

Chris Whiteside MBE

Hawthorn House, Foxhouses Road, Whitehaven, Cumbria, CA28 8AF

Home: 07798 667678

Work: chris.whiteside@cumbria.gov.uk

Conservative Egremont North and St Bees
photo of Sol Wielkopolski

Sol Wielkopolski

4 Dane Ghyll, Barrow-in-Furness, Cumbria, LA14 4PZ

Home: 07795 159957

Work: sol.wielkopolski@cumbria.gov.uk

Conservative Newbarns and Parkside
photo of Emma Louise Williamson

Emma Louise Williamson

49 Devon Road, Hensingham, Whitehaven, Cumbria, CA28 8PJ

Home: 07795 505820

Work: emma.williamson@cumbria.gov.uk

Labour Kells and Sandwith
photo of Janet Willis

Janet Willis

Deputy Leader of the Liberal Democrat Group/Cabinet Member for Customers, Transformation and Fire and Rescue

Post Office, Main Street, Greenodd, Ulverston, Cumbria, LA12 7RB

Home mobile: 07976 763067

Work: Janet.Willis@cumbria.gov.uk

Liberal Democrat Low Furness
photo of Doug Wilson

Doug Wilson

Chapel Cottage, 2 Bankfield Road, Haverigg, Millom, LA18 4ET

Home: 07795 667500

Work: doug.wilson@cumbria.gov.uk

Conservative Millom
photo of Mark Wilson

Mark Wilson

(Labour and Co-operative)

7 Parkfield, Ulverston, Cumbria, LA12 0HW

Home: 01229 586404

Work: Mark.Wilson2@cumbria.gov.uk

Labour Ulverston East
photo of Andrew William Wonnacott

Andrew William Wonnacott

69 Bowthorn Road, Cleator Moor, Cumbria, CA25 5JT

Home: 07795 169664

Work: andrewwilliam.wonnacott@cumbria.gov.uk

Conservative Hillcrest and Hensingham
photo of Melvyn Henry (Mel) Worth

Melvyn Henry (Mel) Worth

Chair of Cumbria Pensions Committee

6 Haverigg Gardens, Barrow-in-Furness, Cumbria, LA14 3TH

Home mobile: 07779 247957

Work: Melvyn.Worth@cumbria.gov.uk

Labour Walney North
photo of Roy Worthington

Roy Worthington

Low Roosebeck Farm, Meadow Lane, Ulverston, Cumbria, LA12 ORF

Home: 07795 159916

Work: roy.worthington@cumbria.gov.uk

Conservative Hawcoat
photo of Stewart Young

Stewart Young

Leader of the Council/Leader of the Labour Group

58 St James' Road, Carlisle, Cumbria, CA2 5PD

Work: 01228 226584

Home: 01228 541905

Work: Stewart.Young@cumbria.gov.uk

Labour Upperby