Your Councillors by Division

The 84 County Councillors were elected following the County Council Elections on Thursday 4 May 2017. As no one party won overall control, the current administration is run by a Labour and Liberal Democrat alliance. The councillors represent public interest as well as individuals living within the division in which he or she has been elected to serve a term of office.

They have regular contact with the general public through council meetings, telephone calls or surgeries. Surgeries provide an opportunity for any ward resident to go and talk their councillor face to face and these take place on a regular basis.

Councillors are not paid a salary for their work, but they do receive allowances. By law, all members of the Council are required to complete a declaration of interest form, the details of which are published annually.

To find your councillor please use the below links:

 Alston and East Fellside


  • link to details of Andy Connell
    Andy Connell


    Liberal Democrat

    Vice Chair of County Council



 Belle Vue


 Bothel and Wharrels




  • link to details of Sue Sanderson
    Sue Sanderson


    Liberal Democrat

    Cabinet Member for Schools and Learning


 Cleator Moor East and Frizington

 Cleator Moor West

 Cockermouth North

 Cockermouth South

 Corby and Hayton


 Dalston and Burgh

 Dalton North

 Dalton South

 Dearham and Broughton

 Denton Holme

 Eden Lakes


 Egremont North and St Bees



 Greystoke and Hesket

 Harraby North

 Harraby South

  • link to details of Deborah Anne Earl
    Deborah Anne Earl

    Harraby South


    Cabinet Member for Public Health and Community Services


  • link to details of Marjorie Rae
    Marjorie Rae


    West Cumbria Independent Group

    Deputy Leader of the West Cumbria Independent Group


 High Furness

 Hillcrest and Hensingham


  • link to details of Anne Burns
    Anne Burns



    Cabinet Member for Children's Services/Deputy Leader of the Labour Group

 Houghton and Irthington


 Kells and Sandwith

 Kendal Castle

 Kendal Highgate

 Kendal Nether

 Kendal South

 Kendal Strickland and Fell

  • link to details of Peter Thornton
    Peter Thornton

    Kendal Strickland and Fell

    Liberal Democrat

    Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member for Finance

 Kent Estuary


 Kirkby Stephen



 Low Furness

  • link to details of Janet Willis
    Janet Willis

    Low Furness

    Liberal Democrat

    Deputy Leader of the Liberal Democrat Group/Cabinet Member for Customers, Transformation and Fire and Rescue

 Lower Kentdale

 Lyth Valley

 Maryport North

 Maryport South


 Millom Without



 Moss Bay and Moorclose

 Newbarns and Parkside

 Old Barrow


 Penrith East

 Penrith North

  • link to details of Hilary Carrick
    Hilary Carrick

    Penrith North


    Leader of the Conservative Group

 Penrith Rural

 Penrith West




 Sedbergh and Kirkby Lonsdale

 Solway Coast

 St John's and Great Clifton

 St Michael's

 Stanwix Urban


 Ulverston East

  • link to details of Mark Wilson
    Mark Wilson

    Ulverston East


    (Labour and Co-operative)

 Ulverston West

 Upper Kent


  • link to details of Stewart Young
    Stewart Young



    Leader of the Council/Leader of the Labour Group

 Walney North

 Walney South





 Not specified